Image Not Found

Habiba Rahman

The Department of Television, Film and Photography embarked on a journey on January 23, 2012, as the Department of Television and Film Studies. The Department began its operation on the ground floor of the Social Sciences’ Building under the leadership of the Founding Chair Dr. A J M Shafiul Alam Bhuiyan, a Canadian Commonwealth Scholar and a Professor of Media Studies. It began with a two-year Master’s program in Television and Film Studies and introduced a four-year undergraduate program in 2013. The graduates of the Department have been proudly serving in the national television channels as anchors, reporters, and producers. Many have ventured into filmmaking as independent filmmakers. A significant number of current students and alumni won accolades at film festivals across the world for their outstanding short films.