Image Not Found

Dr. Md. Zillur Rahman

Faculty of Earth and Environmental Sciences
Dean of the Faculty

In accordance with the first Ordinance of the Dhaka University Order 1973 and the recommendation of the Academic Council (17-06-2008) and the Syndicate (17-06-2008) followed by approval of the Senate on 26-06-2008, the Faculty of Earth and Environmental Sciences started its journey. Presently, the Dean of the faculty is Prof. Dr. Md. Zillur Rahman.

At present, there are five departments within the Faculty: Department of Geography and Environment, Department of Geology, Department of Oceanography, Department of Disaster Science and Climate Resilience and Department of Meteorology. Four research centers namely- Disaster Research Training and Management Centre, Delta Study, International Centre for Ocean Governance and Centre for Urban Resilience Studies are running under the faculty.

The Faculty has recently organized an international conference on “Earth and Environmental Sciences & Technology for Sustainable Development - 2020” held on 25-30 January 2020 in Hotel InterContinental Dhaka, Bangladesh. The Honorable President of the People's Republic of Bangladesh, His Excellency Mr. Md. Abdul Hamid and the Honorable Minister of Education, Dr. Dipu Moni, MP, graced the ceremonial opening of the conference with their generous presence. Moreover, Dr. Muhammad Hasan Mahmud, MP, Honorable Minister, Ministry of Information, was present as the Chief Guests in the closing ceremony of the conference.

Considering the fundamental and applied areas of the disciplines as well as addressing cross-cutting issues, six sub-themes including 24 thematic areas were identified for the conference: Blue Economy: Global and Bay of Bengal Perspectives, Geo-Resources Exploration, Development and Management, Disaster Resilience and Sustainability, Environmental Perspectives on Population Dynamics and Regional Development, Meteorology, Weather Forecasting, and Application and Delta Processes and Management. UN Women, Bangladesh joined the conference with another thematic area entitled “Gender Sensitive Infrastructures”.

Scientific and technical including financial supports were received from 22 national and international organizations, comprising of academic institutions (viz. University of Dhaka, University College London), relevant public and private agencies, World Bank, NGOs and scientific societies. In the conference, around 73 international participants from 20 countries and 580local researchers attended. A total of 465 scientific articles were presented in 32 sessions. Eight hundred copies of conference book including 465 abstracts were printed and distributed among the participants including other conference materials.

A peer-reviewed journal, The Dhaka University Journal of Earth & Environmental Sciences has been published regularly under the Faculty since its inception. Since 2021, the journal (volume 10, number 1) is available in online and during this period.

The Faculty will publish a Centennial Special Issue of The Dhaka University Journal of Earth & Environment Sciences for 100 years glory of Dhaka University & Celebrating the golden jubilee of great freedom.

The Faculty at present consists of 78 teachers, over 900 students and 50 staffs. The Dean is the ex-officio Chair of the meetings of the Chairpersons of the Departments where academic matters and other important issues related to students and faculties are discussed. The Dean convenes the meeting of the PhD sub-committee, the Faculty Journal Committee and chairs the Faculty meetings. All professors of the Five Departments take part in the faculty meetings, while five meetings were held from 1 July 2020 to 30 June 2021.